Seasonal Choir

http://www.whitememorial.org/uploads/Alpha-and-Omega500x500.jpg



SEASONAL CHOIR / LENT 2017

A slightly different approach to a seasonal singing opportunity.

 


Linoleum block print by Elizabeth Steele Halstead, Alpha and Omega. Reprinted by permission from Visuals for worship, © 2006, Faith Alive Resources.


We invite you to join either …                                                                          


   ... the Chancel Choir (Tuesday nights, 7:00-8:30 PM & Sundays, 8:15 worship) or

   ... the Sanctuary Choir (Thursday nights, 7:30-9:00 PM & Sundays, 9:30 and/or 11:00 worship)

   (NOTE: the choirs will combine for two Wednesdays, one Saturday and one Tuesday rehearsal. See detailed schedule below)

 

During a ten week period from Wednesday, February 8 through Easter Sunday, April 16 you will experience
  
- the preparation of a larger work—this year’s Lenten Oratorio is the premiere of a new setting of  Seven Last Words by Michael John Trotta.
  
- broader training in vocal production and music reading through work on hymns, anthems, and the oratorio.
  
- the opportunity to be a member of one of the worship leading choirs for Lent and Easter.

Contact: Karl Zinsmeister, Director of Music.


SCHEDULE (We ask that you choose consistently either Tuesdays or Thursdays)

 

Week 1       Wednesday, February 8, 7:00-8:30 PM (Combined)

Week 2       Tuesday, February 14, 7:00-8:30 PM      or   Thursday, February 16, 7:30-9:00 PM

Week 3       Tuesday, February 21, 7:00-8:30 PM      or   Thursday, February 23, 7:30-9:00 PM

Week 4       Ash Wednesday, March 1, worship service 6:30-7:30, rehearsal 7:45-8:45 PM (Combined)

Week 5       Tuesday, March 7, 7:00-8:30 PM          or     Thursday, March 9, 7:30-9:00 PM

Week 6       Tuesday, March 14, 7:00-8:30 PM        or     Thursday, March 16, 7:30-9:00 PM

Week 7       Tuesday, March 21, 7:00-8:30 PM        or     Thursday, March 23, 7:30-9:00 PM

Week 8       Tuesday, March 28, 7:00-8:30 PM        or     Thursday, March 30, 7:30-9:00 PM

Week 9           

                   Thursday, April 6, 7:30-9:00 PM (Combined) and

                   Saturday, April 8, 10:00 AM – Noon / Dress rehearsal (Combined)

 

Week 10     Holy Week

                    Tuesday, April 11, 7:00-7:45 PM review of SLW; 7:45-8:30 PM rehearsal with brass for Easter

                    Maundy Thursday, April 13, 6:30 PM worship service music and hymns, one anthem

                    Good Friday, April 14, 7:30 PM worship with Seven Last Words

                    Saturday Easter Vigil, April 15, 7:30 PM 

                    Easter Sunday, April 16; 8:15, 9:30, 11:00 AM